August 13, 2013

  • I don't remember who says "Life is a journey to Mozart", but as we go deeper and deeper into life, we also go deeper into ourselves, and the more I am finding myself agreeing to the notion.

    At one's youth, we all love the blaze of Liszt, or the melancholic mood of Chopin. Their music fits very well with our excessive sentiments and fantasies of love, being lovelorn or fueled with passion and dreams for our future.

    As we grow old, we no longer find those emotional swing as charming as we used to think. Life should be as beautiful and as simple as possible. Shun all the glory and lust and desire and everything else in this world that has nothing to do with my life, I just want to be with my loved one for the rest of my life.

    We come to admire the natural talent of Mozart - How impeccable his music is, able to produce the most graceful notes with no thunder and lighting, but like a stream flowing through the valley. Such so natural, such so peaceful. Pachelbel's Canon in D shall be comparable in my humble opinion to the genre of Mozart in this regard.

    It was first used in "Ordinary People" 1985, and the first time watching it I did not feel anything in particular. Things changed, and it feels funny now to watch it for the second time.

    How interesting it is to notice how we change our perspectives through time over the same subject.